Sigma Kappa

Chapter History

Chapter History

The Theta Beta Chapter of Sigma Kappa was established on February 22, 1986.

We are comprised of a diverse group of young women, and pride ourselves on fulfilling our four core values - friendship, loyalty, service, and personal growth. We are a proud National Panhellenic Organization (NPC), and collaborate with the other sororities at the University of La Verne through the College Panhellenic Association (CPA). We work toward the betterment of each of our sisters through our spiritual, intellectual, and social development. 

In the past two years, we have won a number of awards on campus, including Greek Organization of the Year, Adviser of the Year, and New Member of the Year. At Sigma Kappa's 86th National Convention in June 2016, we received two stars for our standards of excellence, Honorable Mention for the Alice Hersey Wick Award for cooperating in every way with national officers, Honorable Mention for the Outstanding Public Relations/Programming Award, Honorable Mention for the Ruth Rysdon Miller Award for Campus Panhellenic support, and the Sisterhood Recognition Award. We also were placed in the "Gold Giving Circle" for donating more than $2,500 to the Ultra Violet Campaign.

For the 2017-2018 school year, Theta Beta boasts the highest GPA of all Greek organizations on campus along with the Scholarship of the Year award. This year, at the 87th Sigma Kappa National Convention, we were awarded one star for our standards of excellence, and the Sisterhood Recognition Award.